Yesterday was a reading day. As I thought about my story, I read:

 

Save me a Seat by Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan I read in one sitting. I finished the book while in the parking lot of my public library as I waited for my daughter. The authors brought me into the fifth grade classroom of Albert Einstein Elementary. Ravi Suryanarayanan has just arrived to Hamilton, New Jersey from Bangalore, India. In his country of origin, Ravi ranked top of his class in academics and excelled as a cricket player. Now, no one understands him when he speaks, and he’s mortified to be assigned to a resource teacher. Joe, the other character’s perspective included, tries to sneak by the class bully and rise above the belief that everyone thinks he is stupid.

Both authors present well-crafted characters that made me laugh so hard that my two dogs came and checked on me. In contrast, a few scenes made me wipe away the tears. I read this book in one sitting and will purchase copies of this book for my middle school where I work as the librarian.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Loading

Leave a comment